2021 NSPA Journalism Honor Roll named

1,400 student journalists recognized for academic excellence

2021 NSPA Journalism Honor Roll named

Press Release

MINNEAPOLIS — National Scholastic Press Association, the nation’s largest association for high school, junior high and middle school journalists, has inducted approximately 1,400 high-school scholars and student journalists into its 2021 Journalism Honor Roll.

Locally, the following students from Eagle Valley High School were honored —

Samuel Elliott ’22, Adriana Gallegos Helguera ’21, Hailey Gifford ’23, Carter Josef ’21, Andrew Bode Kostick ’21, Kimberly Mayorga Escalante ’22, Reagan McAdams ’23, and Jordan Neifert ’22.

“These outstanding students excel in both the classroom and in their school newsrooms,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “The future of journalism is bright if these students are any indication.”

In addition to serving for at least two years on a student media staff, in broadcast, newspaper, magazine, online or yearbook, the students have earned a 3.5 or higher grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Senior inductees are eligible to compete for a $1,000 scholarship, and NSPA will announce the scholarship winner in May.

All Honor Roll inductees will receive a certificate of recognition and will be listed in the association’s Best of the High School Press, a yearly publication showcasing the winners in the association’s student media competitions. Inductees are also eligible to wear a special honor cord at graduation.

Through education, training and recognition programs, NSPA promotes the standards and ethics of good journalism. Its educational programs, both on-site and virtual, train thousands of student journalists and advisers, and its awards programs include the Pacemaker Award, the nation’s preeminent publication honor. It celebrates 100 years of service in 2022.